Nicole McNeil Named Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science

Mcneil Fall06Nicole McNeil

January 19, 2018 • Theo Helm


Nicole McNeil, the Director of the Interdisciplinary Minor in Education, Schooling, and Society, an ACE Professor of Psychology, and a fellow of the Institute for Educational Initiatives, has been selected as a Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science.

Read More

Psychologist examines methods of classifying mental disorders

Lee Anna Clark Feature
Dr. Lee Anna Clark
Understanding Mental Disorder through a Scientific Lens: 
“One of the main things that we kept coming back to is the idea that ‘having a mental disorder’ is very different from having the measles or even something like diabetes – and it can be helpful to think about mental disorder psychopathology in this more complex way,” says Clark. “While there definitely are treatments and ways to help people deal with mental disorders, there aren’t any magic bullets.”

Read More

Healing Words, Healing Work: Supporting Recovery from Child Abuse and Neglect - Kristin Valentino

Child abuse and neglect leads to destructive behavioral and physical health problems among millions of children each year. This talk addresses how to support recovery from child abuse and neglect through the strengthening of parent-child relationships. You can view Kristin Valentino's Saturday Scholar lecture video here, and on the Arts and Letters YouTube channel:

Read More

Dr. Lee Anna Clark wins 2017 Joseph Zubin Award

Lee Anna AwardDr. Lee Anna Clark wins 2017 Joseph Zubin Award

Congratulations, Lee Anna!

Dr. Lee Anna Clark, William J. & Dorothy K. O'Neill Professor of Psychology, Co-Director of the Center for Advanced Measurement of Personality & Psychopathology, and Psychology Department Chair, has been awarded the 2017 Joseph Zubin Award by the Society for Research in Psychopathology. The Zubin Award is given for lifetime contributions to the understanding of psychopathology. Pictured here is Professor Clark (right) with Sheri Johnson, past president of the Society, receiving her award at the 31st Annual Meeting of the Society for Research in Psychopathology in Denver, Colorado, on September 16, 2017. 

Read More